Thursday 22 August 2019
Home      All news      Contact us      India
business-standard - 8 days ago

Three YSR Cong candidates file nomination for Council bypolls

The three candidates of the ruling YSR Congress on Wednesday filed their nominations for the by-election to the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council. The by-election is being held to fill the three seats under the Assembly quota that fell vacant after the incumbents resigned on their election to the state Assembly in May. Minister Mopidevi Venkata Ramana, former IPS officer Sheik Mohammad Iqbal and former MLA Challa Ramakrishna Reddy filed their nominations before Returning Officer P Balakrishnamacharyulu. Given its strength of 151 MLAs, the YSRC could bag all three seats. As it stood no chance of winning even one seat, the opposition TDP did not field any candidate for the by-election. As such, the election of YSRC nominees could be an unanimous affair. Last date for withdrawal of nominations is August 19 and the date for polling, if required, is August 26. Ramana was inducted into the Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy Cabinet on June 8 despite losing the Assembly election from ...

Latest News










Most Popular (6 hours)

Most Popular (24 hours)

Most Popular (a week)