Monday 25 March 2019
Home      All news      Contact us      India
business-standard - 10 days ago

SDF announces names of 18 candidates, drops 9 sitting MLAs

Sikkim Democratic Front president and Chief Minister Pawan Kumar Chamling Friday announced the names of 18 SDF candidates for the state Assembly election, dropping nine sitting MLAs including Speaker K N Rai and three ministers. Sikkim Assembly election will be held on April 11 along with the Lok Sabha polls. The state Assembly has 32 MLAs. Rai, who was elected in 2014 from Poklok Kamrang assembly seat in South Sikkim, has been denied nomination this time with the chief minister himself deciding to contest from this constituency. Chamling, who is seeking election for the eighth successive term, will also contest from his traditional seat, Namchi Singithang in South Sikkim which he had won by a convincing margin in the 2014 polls too. Chamling has dropped three ministers - Sher Bahadur Subedi, Arjun Kumar Ghatani and Tulsi Devi Rai and replaced them with new candidates. Five other ruling party MLAs have been denied renomination in the first list of candidates. The 18 ...

Latest News










Most Popular (6 hours)

Most Popular (24 hours)

Most Popular (a week)