Saturday 18 January 2020
Home      All news      Contact us      India
business-standard - 4 days ago

AAP announces candidates for all 70 seats, 24 new faces, Kejriwal to contest from New Delhi

The Aam Aadmi Party on Tuesday announced its list of 70 candidates for the February 8 Delhi Assembly polls, with Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal contesting again from New Delhi seat and his deputy Manish Sisodia from Patparganj seat. The party has dropped 15 sitting MLAs and given tickets to a total of 24 new faces, including Atishi, Dilip Pandey and Raghav Chadha who unsuccessfully contested the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The AAP has also given ticket to five leaders who jumped ship from the Congress, including five-time MLA Shoaib Iqbal who will fight from Matia Mahal. Iqbal, who was former Deputy Speaker in Delhi Assembly, is among four Muslim candidates. The others -- Amanatullah Khan from Okhla, Haji Yunus from Mustafabad and Imran Hussain from Ballimaran -- are sitting MLAs. There are eight women candidates. Besides Kejriwal and his deputy, all the five other Delhi government ministers also figure in the list, released by the AAP s Political Affairs Committee on the first day of ..

Latest News














Most Popular (6 hours)

Most Popular (24 hours)

Most Popular (a week)