Tuesday 23 April 2019
Home      All news      Contact us      India
sify.com - 1 month ago

Maharashtra: Cong, NCP seal seat-sharing deal

[India], Mar 23 (ANI): The Congress and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), along with smaller parties, on Saturday sealed their seat-sharing agreement for the 48 Lok Sabha seats in Maharashtra.Announcing the break-up, former Maharashtra Chief Minister and state Congress chief Ashok Chavan, Congress will contest on 24 seats, NCP on 20 seats, Bahujan Vikas Aghadi on one seat, Swabhimani Shetkari Sanghatana on two seats and Yuva Swabhimani Paksha on one seat. The finalising of the seat-sharing deal comes days after NCP chief Sharad Pawar said that he will not contest in the impending Lok Sabha elections.Meanwhile, the Congress has announced candidates for 12 seats and NCP for 16 seats in Maharashtra.On February 18, the BJP and its NDA ally Shiv Sena had announced the seat-sharing deal in the state. According to the agreement, the BJP will fight on 25 seats and Shiv Sena on 23 seats.In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP won 23 seats while the Shiv Sena garnered 18 seats. The NCP and Congress won just four and two seats, respectively.Maharashtra will go to polls in the first four phases, beginning April 11. Results will be announced on May 23. (ANI)

Latest News




Most Popular (6 hours)

Most Popular (24 hours)

Most Popular (a week)